sometimes things fall apart so better things can fall together

Late February – it’s really cold. There’s brown-gray snow lining the streets. My planner is filled with midterms and papers. It’s time to figure out housing for next year… everything is kind of miserable.

Since October, the plan was to live with Emma, my roommate from this year, Sharon and Bailey, our suitemates, and Tavia, the girl across the the hall. Once everyone else started trying to figure out housing, Emma’s friend Marianna was stranded. Emma, without talking to us, invited her to join us in a 6-person apartment. Yeah, that was annoying, but it was fine. We didn’t know Marianna, and we weren’t sure how living with her would be, but it wouldn’t be the end of the world.

Then we found out there are only 28 6-person apartments on campus.

We formed pairs: Emma and Marianna, me and Sharon, Bailey and Tavia. We decided that Bailey and Tavia would be floaters while Emma and Marianna and Sharon and I tried to find another pair to live with one of us. Then, Bailey and Tavia decided that they would rather live with Emma and Marianna because they didn’t want to be around me and Sharon and our “sigma-ness”.

Sharon and I got the short end of the stick. The very short end. We were MAD. I reached out to my two friends in Sigma, Emma and Elle, because I knew Elle was having second thoughts about the other pair they were living with. She said she was going to suck it up and invite another girl it Sigma, Maddie to join them as a 5.

The 5 of them got dinner last night, so Maddie could meet the other pair. I guess it went terribly. Things blew up, and Emma, Elle, and Maddie ditched. They came to me and asked if Sharon and I would be interested in living in a 5 with them. (!!!)

I can’t even put into words how excited I am for next year! Here’s to my badge order buddies (Emma and Elle), my best friend (Sharon), and the girl who I’m not yet super close too but this is cool as fuck (Maddie).

Leave a Reply

